Welcome to Fire Girl the Translation

Hey guys, Eternal Dreamer here, with the unveiling of my new project, Fire Girl by Hoshizora Meteor! As you might already know, I’ll be working on this series alongside my other translation project, Fate/Apocrypha, but for the time being, I intend to give priority to Fire Girl, so you can count on regular updates here for a good while. I’m not sure how well-known the series is to readers, but I’ll give a little explanation here just in case. Fire Girl, like Fate/Apocrypha, is a light novel series published by Type Moon, but unlike F/A, the story isn’t related to the overarching universe of Fate/Stay Night and Tsukihime, but rather takes place in an entirely different setting, so this time there’s no need to worry about knowing any prior material for newcomers. The story follows the female lead Hinooka Homura, a normal girl whose dull and stressful high school life gets turned around when she gets invited to become a “Mage” as part of the Exploration Club, leading her on an awe-inspiring adventure to an entirely different world. Although the plot might not seem like anything special at first glance, it really is a rather unique tale with a large cast of interesting characters that has lacked a translation for far too long, in my opinion. The series is also different from usual in that it has each volume is divided into several separate books. (Because it would greatly exceed the regular length of a light novel if they were combined.) Currently, Volumes 1 and 2 have been published in sets of two parts, while Volume 3 consists of three parts, with the second part having only recently come out. I don’t know how long it will take me to catch up, but at least I won’t be lacking text to translate for a good long while. 😀

As for why I chose this series, part of it was because I want to get more Type Moon books out there and translated, but I think the main reason is that I’ve been wanting for a while now to try working on something that’s a little different from the typical battle and slice-of-life light novels that are popular these days, and Fire Girl fits that criteria better than anything else I know. Although it has proven a challenge to translate due to its rather unique and minimalist writing style, that in itself makes it an interesting and worthy project to work, so I have no regrets about that. I pray that you readers will come to think the same as well.

Anyway, enough with the stuffy explanations. It’s time to start reading! I hope you’ll all have fun on your journey to a world of adventure and new discoveries!

This entry was posted by eternal0dreamer.

7 thoughts on “Welcome to Fire Girl the Translation

  1. yup , even if it look cliché i can see the uniqueness before even starting , i’m reading this !! thanks for the translation and gambatte!! you can do it !! translate it all !! *-*

    Like

Leave a Reply

